Today's LinkedIn Nugget

#LinkedIn Q&A: first of a series

1st in a series{Writer’s note: This will be the first in an intermittent series of answers arising from questions I am asked in my public sessions.

Soon I will open a regular Google Hangout to answer your ad hoc questions, so stay tuned.}

The most frequent question I get, by far, is:

If I disconnect from someone, will they get a message via LinkedIn and find out?

The answerscissors is a qualified “no.

They will not get an explicit message sent to them by LinkedIn, but if they were to later look at your profile, they will see your relationship has gone from 1st degree to 2nd.

That’s changeable down the line if you decide to re-connect, but you will need their approval to do so, like the first time. So, you can feel safe culling through your connections and deleting a few is easy. Here’s how.

Do you have any questions I can answer?

2 thoughts on “#LinkedIn Q&A: first of a series”

  1. When my News Feed switched to the new format yesterday, my settings to filter what I want to see in my News Feed seem to have been lost. For example, I don’t want to see new connections that my connections make. This information had been filtered out, but now it’s back in my news feed. How do I restore the old settings?

Leave a Reply