When you see this, you should also hear suspenseful music. LinkedIn is warning you that you may just be going someplace deep and dark and scary.

Or not.

They let you make that decision. In the case of the above link, I was comfortable and clicked.

As LinkedIn says on the Help page for this topic: “The message is a reminder for our members to be mindful of protecting themselves by not sharing personal information with unknown sources. For instance, some sites are made to resemble LinkedIn in order to capture your username or password. Other unsafe sites may attempt to install spyware on your device.”

Anecdotally, I understand that LinkedIn can also warn you that if you click certain external links, you are breaking your user agreement.

Like data scraping. Like you’re kicked off LinkedIn. Like be careful out there, it’s a scary linkable world.

This just made it a bit safer IMHO.